The State Suspended My Driver's License. What Now?
Losing your Virginia driver's license is no joke. When your license is suspended, you can't drive under any circumstances. You can't drive to work. You can't drive to get your children from school.
There are several circumstances that can result in the suspension of your license. Here are a couple:
- Conviction for reckless driving
- Failure to pay child support, court fines, traffic tickets, jail fees or any previous judgment
- Failure to maintain insurance on your vehicle
- Suffer from a health condition such as seizure or impaired vision
- Too many points lost for traffic violations.
Driving while intoxicated - with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher - will lead to license suspension. For the first DUI offense, your license will be suspended for seven days. For your second violation, your license will be suspended for 60 days or until your case goes to trial, whichever is first. For your third violation or if you refuse to take a breath test, your license will be suspended until you go to trial.
Virginia's Point System
Too many points on your driver's license can result in a suspension. Eighteen points within 12 months or 24 points within 24 months will result in a 90-day suspension.
Here are some of the violations and the points assigned to each: Reckless driving - 6 points; Speeding - 4 points; Failure to stop or yield right-of-way - 4 points; Driving on the sidewalk - 3 points; Improper passing - 3 points.
Points stay on your record for two years from the date you committed the infraction or longer depending on the severity of the incident.
Getting your license back will also require attendance at a driver improvement clinic. These are offered both in-person and on-line.
If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you could:
- Go to jail for up to a year
- Face up to $2,500 in fines
- Have your vehicle impounded
- Face license revocation
If your license is revoked, you lose the privilege of driving in Virginia. Getting that privilege back is no easy task. You have to comply with the terms of your revocation, retake the driver's test, pay a fee and get a new license.